A person who is a Kansas resident for tuition and fee purposes is eligible for in-state tuition at state universities. Please read and consider the following FAQs to determine if you might qualify for in-state tuition.
- Who sets policies regarding residency?
- Where can I get a copy of these laws and regulations?
- How is my residency status for tuition determined?
- What is the basic rule regarding residency for tuition and fee purposes at state universities?
- What if I used to be a resident but left the state and now have returned?
- Can I become a resident while going to school full-time?
- I've lived in Kansas for over year; am I a resident now?
- I just married a Kansan; does that make a difference?
- Can a foreign student become a resident?
- Are there any special exceptions to these rules?
- I have heard there are new rules for people who are or have been in the military. What are they?
- What should I do if I have been classified as a non-resident and I believe that is wrong?
- Is it possible that I am not a resident anywhere for tuition and fee purposes?
1. Who sets policies regarding residency?
The laws and regulations regarding residency for tuition and fee purposes are established by the Kansas Legislature and the Kansas Board of Regents. State universities are required to follow these rules and may not establish their own. The Legislature’s and the Board’s rules are unique to residency for tuition and fee purposes at the state universities, and residency for other purposes, such as for community college tuition, may differ.
2. Where can I get a copy of these laws and regulations?
All Kansas Statutes Annotated (K.S.A) can be found at the Kansas Legislature’s website: www.kslegislature.org. Kansas Administrative Regulations (K.A.R) are available from your Registrar’s office, but are also available here. Citations for the appropriate law or regulation will follow the questions below, so that you can read the source of the answers.
3. How is my residency status for tuition determined?
Your residency status is initially determined by the Admissions Office working with the Registrar on your campus. The determination is based on the information provided in your application to the university. The Registrar’s decision is guided by the laws and regulations established by the Kansas Legislature and the Board of Regents. (K.A.R. 88-2-1)
4. What is the basic rule regarding residency for tuition and fee purposes at state universities?
Generally, if you (or your parents, if you are a minor) have lived in Kansas more than one year (12 months), you have not been enrolled at a state university during that time, and you intend to stay in Kansas indefinitely, you will be considered a resident for tuition and fee purposes. In other words, you demonstrate that you have chosen to live in Kansas for at least 12 months because you want to make Kansas your permanent home and not just because you want to get in-state tuition. (K.S.A. 76-729 and K.A.R. 88-3-2)
5. What if I used to be a resident but left the state and now have returned?
As of July 1, 2006, if you can prove you were a resident for tuition and fee purposes within the last five years (60 months) and that you have returned to live in Kansas, you will be deemed a resident for tuition and fee purposes. (K.S.A. 76-729 as amended by 2007 HB 2185 §10)
6. Can I become a resident while going to school full-time?
Usually, no. Someone who comes to Kansas to go to a state university and who is a full-time student has to overcome a strong presumption that he or she is only here temporarily for the duration of the educational program. Overcoming that presumption can be very difficult to do while remaining a full-time student. The answer to the next question provides more information on the factors that may indicate intent to be a resident in Kansas. (K.A.R. 88-3-2)
7. I've lived in Kansas for over year; am I a resident now?
Qualifying as a resident for fee purposes requires more than just being present in the state for a year. The Registrar will consider the following types of things, if they have existed for at least 12 months, to determine your intent to be a Kansas resident. No one factor alone is determinative of residency.
- Continuous presence in Kansas, except for brief temporary absences, during periods when not enrolled as a student
- Employment in Kansas
- Payment of Kansas state individual income taxes
- Reliance on Kansas sources for financial support
- Commitment to an education program that indicates an intent to remain permanently in Kansas
- Acceptance of an offer of permanent employment in Kansas
- Admission to a licensed practicing profession in Kansas
- Ownership of a home in Kansas
The following things, standing alone, generally do not establish residency.
- Voting or registering to vote in Kansas
- Employment in any position normally filled by a student
- Lease of living quarters in Kansas
- A statement of your intention to acquire residence in Kansas
- Residence in Kansas of the student’s spouse
- Vehicle registration in Kansas
- Acquisition of a Kansas driver's license
- Payment of Kansas personal property taxes
8. I just married a Kansan; does that make a difference?
It might. The residency status of married individuals is determined separately for each spouse, but if you have been married more than 12 months, it will be considered a factor in your application for residency. (K.A.R. 88-3-7 and 88-3-2)
9. Can a foreign student become a resident?
Usually, no. Anyone who is here on a temporary visa—including student, training and practical experience visas—must leave this country once the purpose for which he or she was allowed to enter the county has been met. Not having permission to stay in the country permanently, such persons cannot demonstrate the requisite intent to make Kansas their permanent home. (K.A.R. 88-3-2)
10. Are there any special rules for certain categories of individuals?
Yes, even if someone does not qualify for in-state tuition rates because they have not been a Kansas resident for twelve months prior to applying for admittance at a state university, Kansas law allows in-state tuition rates for certain categories of people and their spouses or dependents. These include: certain Kansas high school graduates; current military personnel and certain veterans; people who have been recruited to work in Kansas; persons who lost their resident status within six months of enrollment (if they return to Kansas); a dependent student whose parents are divorced, as long as at least one parent is a Kansas resident as defined by applicable statutes; and employees of state universities. If you want to know if someone falls into any of these categories, contact the Office of Registrar at the university in question. (K.S.A. 76-729 and 76-731a; K.A.R. 88-3-8a, 88-3-9, 88-3-10, 88-3-11, and 88-3-13)
11. I have heard there are special rules for people who are or have been in the military. What are they?
Effective July 1, 2015, in-state resident tuition rates are available to all veterans eligible for federal education benefits, along with all current members of the armed forces, if they have been admitted to one of the 32 public postsecondary colleges or a state university in Kansas.
This in-state tuition rate is available to qualifying veterans and all current members of the armed forces (including army, navy, marine corps, air force, coast guard, Kansas army or air national guard, or any branch of the military reserves of the United States), along with spouses and dependent children, who are enrolled or have been accepted for admission at a Kansas postsecondary educational institution. There is no requirement that such a student have previously resided in Kansas, prior to admission.
For assistance in determining the availability of in-state tuition rates pursuant to this 2015 law, please contact the Office of the Registrar at the institution where you intend to apply for admission. For more information, visit: http://www.kansasregents.org/students/military.
12. What should I do if I have been classified as a non-resident and I believe that is wrong?
If you disagree with the Registrar’s determination, you may appeal the decision to a residency committee at your university. The Registrar’s office has forms for you to use to file an appeal. The appeal must be filed within 30 days of the date you were notified of the determination. The determination of the residency committee is final and subject only to review by a court.
Note: The Board of Regents cannot change the determination of the Registrar or the residency committee. (K.A.R. 88-3-1)
13. Is it possible that I am not a resident anywhere for tuition and fee purposes?
Yes. The information provided here only applies to residency decisions related to the tuition and fees charged by Kansas state universities. Different rules may apply to residency status in your home state or for other schools. The different definitions and rules applied by different states could result in your not being considered a resident of any state, for tuition purposes.