Qualified Admissions

State universities in Kansas follow Qualified Admissions (QA) criteria when admitting undergraduate students. These criteria are set by the Kansas Board of Regents, the governing body for the six state universities. The purpose of QA is to enhance success at the university level by ensuring students are prepared for the rigors of a university education. The institutions that use QA for admission are: Emporia State University, Fort Hays State University, Kansas State University, Pittsburg State University, University of Kansas, and Wichita State University.

2015-2016 and after qualified admission image

Qualified Admissions for High School Graduates Academic Year 2015-2016 and After
CLICK HERE to view this document in Spanish.

 New Qualified Admissions changes are expected to go into effect for 2021 high school graduates. For more information, please see the Frequently Asked Questions guide to the anticipated changes.

Qualified Admissions Rules and Regulations

The Kansas Board of Regents has statutory authority to enact rules and regulations for admission to state universities. The Qualified Admissions Rules and Regulations were enacted to implement K.S.A. 76-717, the statute that details undergraduate admissions standards for state universities.

  • Click here to read the Qualified Admissions Rules and Regulations

Approved Qualified Admissions Curricula at High Schools

The Kansas Board of Regents, in consultation with the Kansas State Department of Education, using the Kansas Course Code system, has identified secondary courses that meet precollege curriculum requirements. Approved courses are listed by subject area: English, Math, Natural Science, Social Science and electives.

Read more ...

Kansas Scholars Program

The Kansas State Scholarship is designed to assist financially needy students in the top 20-40% of Kansas high school graduates who are designated as state scholars during the senior year of high school.  Completion of the Kansas Scholars Curriculum is one component of the scholarship requirements.