June 13, 2022

Cowley Community College and Salina Technical College recognized in Data Quality Awards

(Topeka, Kan.) -  At this week’s Kansas Board of Regents (KBOR) 2022 Data Quality and Planning Conference, KBOR President and CEO Dr. Blake Flanders presented Data Quality Awards to Cowley Community College (Cowley College) and Salina Area Technical College (Salina Tech).

Now in its 10th year, the Data Quality Award serves to recognize institutions for excellence in the quality of data submitted and the timeliness of submissions. Awards are given each June to the two institutions with superior ratings, recognizing the outstanding team of professionals who provide institutional data to the Board. This year, each awardee scored the highest points of institutions from its sector, community colleges and technical colleges. In addition to data quality, Debbie Phelps (Cowley College) and Denise Hoeffner (Salina Tech) scored additional points for each institution in support of Board objectives and leadership among peers.

Data is submitted throughout the year to support a variety of purposes, including distribution formulas for state and federal funds, Board and legislative agendas, research initiatives, federal and state compliance, and consumer information such as the tools found on the Kansas Higher Education Statistics and the Kansas DegreeStats websites ( and

Included on the 2022 selection committee were representatives from last year’s recipients, Emporia State University and Fort Scott Community College. Other past recipients include Butler Community College, Coffeyville Community College, Flint Hills Technical College, Johnson County Community College, Kansas City Kansas Community College, Neosho County Community College, Pittsburg State University, Seward County Community College, the University of Kansas, Washburn University, Washburn Institute of Technology, and the Wichita State Campus of Applied Sciences and Technology.

For more information, please contact Matt Keith at (785) 430-4237 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


About the Kansas Board of Regents
The nine-member Kansas Board of Regents is the governing board of the state’s six universities and the statewide coordinating board for the state’s 32 public higher education institutions (six state universities, one municipal university, nineteen community colleges, and six technical colleges). In addition, the Board administers the state’s student financial aid, adult education, high school equivalency, and career and technical education programs. Private proprietary schools and out-of-state institutions are authorized by the Kansas Board of Regents to operate in Kansas.