June 4, 2019

University of Kansas and Wichita State University Campus of Applied Sciences and Technology recognized in Data Quality Awards

(Topeka, Kan.) - During today’s luncheon at the Kansas Board of Regents (KBOR) 2019 Data Quality and Planning Conference, Regent Dennis Mullin, chair of the Kansas Board of Regents, presented Data Quality Awards to the University of Kansas (KU) and the Wichita State University Campus of Applied Sciences and Technology (WSU Tech).

“Accurate data is essential for the Regents, elected officials and leaders in the higher education system,” Regent Mullin said. “The superior quality and accessibility of higher education data in Kansas help us develop and measure strategic policy goals designed to make education more affordable for Kansas families and build a talented workforce for the state. I congratulate KU and WSU Tech for leading the way in data quality this year.”

Now in its seventh year, the Data Quality Award serves to recognize institutions for excellence in the quality of data submitted and the timeliness of submissions. Awards are given each June to the two institutions with superior ratings, recognizing the outstanding team of professionals who provide institutional data to the Board.

“Data is key for understanding the performance of today’s higher education system, as well as the state’s economy. Providing quality and meaningful data requires dedicated data teams,” said KBOR Director of Data, Research and Planning Cynthia Farrier. “The Data Quality Award acknowledges institutional professionals who have distinguished themselves through exemplary effort and commitment to the highest data standards.”

Data is submitted throughout the year to support a variety of purposes, which include distribution formulas for state and federal funds, Board and legislative agendas, research initiatives, federal and state compliance, and consumer information such as the tools found on the Kansas Higher Education Statistics and the Kansas DegreeStats websites ( and

Included on the 2019 selection committee were representatives from last year’s winning institutions, Washburn University and Kansas City Kansas Community College. Other past winners include Butler Community College, Coffeyville Community College, Emporia State University, Johnson County Community College, Neosho County Community College, Pittsburg State University, Seward County Community College, and Washburn Institute of Technology.

For more information or for photos of the 2019 winners, please contact Matt Keith at (785) 430-4237 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


About the Kansas Board of Regents:
The nine-member Kansas Board of Regents is the governing board of the state’s six universities and the statewide coordinating board for the state’s 32 public higher education institutions (six state universities, one municipal university, nineteen community colleges, and six technical colleges). In addition, the Board administers the state’s student financial aid, adult education, high school equivalency, and career and technical education programs. Private proprietary schools and out-of-state institutions are authorized by the Kansas Board of Regents to operate in Kansas.