June 6, 2018

Washburn University and Kansas City Kansas Community College recognized in sixth annual Data Quality Awards

(Topeka, Kan.) - During today's luncheon at the Kansas Board of Regents (KBOR) 2018 Data Quality and Planning Conference, Dr. Blake Flanders, president and CEO of KBOR, presented Washburn University and Kansas City Kansas Community College with Data Quality Awards.

“Accurate data is essential for the Regents, elected officials and leaders in the higher education system," Dr. Flanders said. “The superior quality and accessibility of higher education data in Kansas helps us implement policies that adapt to the present and plan for the future. I congratulate Washburn University and Kansas City Kansas Community College for leading the way in data quality this year."

Now in its sixth year, the award serves as a way to recognize institutions for excellence in the quality of data submitted and the timeliness of submissions. Awards are given each June to the two institutions with superior ratings, recognizing the outstanding team of professionals who provide each institutional data to the Board.

"A tremendous amount of hard work and dedication is required by the data teams at higher education institutions," said KBOR Director of Data, Research and Planning Cynthia Farrier. "The Data Quality Awards give us a great opportunity to recognize the outstanding effort, commitment to best practices, and attention to detail required for high quality data."

Data are submitted throughout the year to support a variety of purposes, which include state funding distribution formulas, Board and Legislative strategic agendas, research initiatives, federal and state compliance, and data transparency efforts such as the Kansas DegreeStats website (

Included on the 2018 selection committee were representatives from last year's winning institutions: Emporia State University and Coffeyville Community College. Other past winners include: Johnson County Community College, Seward County Community College, Washburn Institute of Technology, Butler Community College, Pittsburg State University, Kansas City Kansas Community College, Washburn University, and Neosho County Community College.

For more information, please contact Matt Keith at (785) 430-4237 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


About the Kansas Board of Regents:
The nine-member Kansas Board of Regents is the governing board of the state’s six universities and the statewide coordinating board for the state’s 32 public higher education institutions (six state universities, one municipal university, nineteen community colleges, and six technical colleges). In addition, the Board administers the state’s student financial aid, adult education, high school equivalency, and career and technical education programs. Private proprietary schools and out-of-state institutions are authorized by the Kansas Board of Regents to operate in Kansas. Visit the Kansas Board of Regents online at