### System Council of Chief Academic Officers

#### MINUTES Wednesday November 15, 2017

The November 15, 2017, meeting of the System Council of Chief Academic Officers was called to order by Co-Chair April Mason at 8:30 a.m. The meeting was held in Olive Room (RSC 261) located in the Rhatigan Student Center on the Wichita State University Campus at 1845 N. Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260.

#### In Attendance:

Co-Chairs:	April Mason, KSU		
Members:	Michael Fitzpatrick, Pratt CC	Lynette Olson, PSU	Tony Vizzini, WSU
	Jeff Briggs, FHSU	Brad Bennett, Colby CC	Stuart Day, KU
	David Cordle, ESU	Steve Loewen, FHTC	Robert Klein, KUMC
Staff:	Jean Redeker	Karla Wiscombe	Max Fridell
Others:	Adam Borth, Fort Scott CC	Michael McCloud, JCCC	Aron Potter, Coffeyville CC
	Gina Crabtree, WSU	Rick Muma, WSU	Rick Moehring, JCCC
	Amy Hite, PSU	Rob Catlett, ESU	Brad Bennett, Colby CC
	Scott Lucas, WATC	Erin Shaw, Highland CC	Sarah Robb, Neosho CC
	Brian Niehoff, KSU	Brian Lindshield, KSU	Lori Winningham, Butler CC
	Cindy Hoss, Hutchinson CC	Harold Arnett, Cowley CC	Mark Porcaro, WSU
	David Wright, WSU	Stephan Bisaha, KMUW	Marissa Campbell, The Sunflower

### ANNOUNCEMENT

Co-Chair April Mason welcomed everyone and started introductions around the room.

### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

Tony Vizzini moved that the minutes of the September 20, 2017, meeting be approved. Following the second of Jeff Briggs, the motion carried.

### **UPDATES**

A. Steve Loewen, Flint Hills Technical College, updated SCOCAO on the Transfer and Articulation Council (TAAC).

- Reviewed and approved the core outcomes for three new courses
  - o Financial Accounting
  - Managerial Accounting
  - o Environmental Science
- Reviewed and approved the core outcomes for 20 existing courses
- 2018 KCOG Conference will be held October 12, 2018, at the KU Edwards campus
- B. Credit for Prior Learning (CPL) update was given by Karla Wiscombe.
  - Reviewed the Kansas Credit for Prior Learning Guidelines at the CPL Task Force September 29th meeting
  - Guidelines require a review by SCOCAO, please provide feedback to Karla by December 20<sup>th</sup> meeting Distributed several handouts
  - Kansas Credit for Prior Learning Guidelines
  - o 2016 Kansas Statutes 74-32,302
  - o College Board AP Exam Participation and Performance information
  - College Board listing of AP course exams
  - o 2017-18 CLEP Credit-Granting Recommendations

- o Prior Learning Assessment HLC Webinar information
- C. Developmental Education Working Group update was given by Jean Redeker.
  - Sam Christy-Dangermond, KBOR, will be working with the group
  - Focusing on the transition from Accuplacer Classic to Accuplacer Next Gen
  - The group expects to have recommended Cut Scores determined by next spring
    - Surveying faculty at two year institutions
    - o Requesting feedback from individuals taking the Accuplacer Next Gen test
    - o Researching other state's processes for determining Cut Scores
    - Great Plains Conference on Acceleration to be held March 8-9, 2018, at Butler CC
    - o College Board will conduct a pre-conference Next Generation Accuplacer session on March 8th
    - o Dr. Patrick Saxon, Susan Gabriel and Jesse Kiefner are guest speakers
  - Conference information will be sent to SCOCAO members

# **OTHER MATTERS**

- A. Lumina Foundation Strategy Lab Grant information was presented by Jean Redeker.
  - Continuing AY2016-17 Board goal to recruit adult degree seeking students
  - Building a recruitment communication plan with the \$50,000 grant
  - Working with National Student Clearinghouse to obtain student information
  - Forming an advisory group of individuals from the institutions
  - Emphasizing Reverse Transfer, Credit for Prior Learning, and Military Training
  - Expecting initial communication release in 2018

B. Midwest Student Exchange Program (MSEP) additions at PSU

Lynette Olson informed SCOCAO of two additions to MSEP in Engineering Technology, mechanical and manufacturing. Consensus was to approve the additions to Midwest Student Exchange Program at Pittsburg State University.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

Jeff Briggs moved, and Michael Fitzpatrick seconded to adjourn the meeting. Meeting adjourned at 8:51 a.m.