### Council of Chief Academic Officers MINUTES Wednesday, May 15, 2024

The May 15, 2024, Council of Chief Academic Officers (COCAO) meeting was called to order by Chair Debbie Mercer at 8:48 a.m. The meeting was held in person at the Board office, with a Zoom option available.

#### In Attendance:

Members:	Debbie Mercer, K-State	Howard Smith, PSU
	John Fritch, Washburn	Jill Arensdorf, FHSU
	Barbara Bichelmeyer, KU	Robert Klein, KUMC

Brent Thomas, ESU Shirley Lefever, WSU

# **Approval of Minutes**

Howard Smith moved to approve the April 17, 2024, meeting minutes, and Jill Arensdorf seconded. The motion passed.

### Council of Faculty Senate Presidents (CoFSP) Update

Don Von Bergen, Chair of the Council of Faculty Senate Presidents, provided an update. There will be a working lunch today for the current council presidents and the incoming council presidents to assist in a smooth transition for the next year. They continue to work on the criteria for the Faculty of the Year Award, with the goal of having one set of criteria that all universities can agree on. He also announced that Norman Philips, Pittsburg State University, will be the Chair of the Council of Faculty Senate Presidents next year.

### Second Readings

Barbra Bichelmeyer presented the second reading for the MS in Human & Organization Performance Effectiveness at the University of Kansas. Jill Arensdorf moved to approve the request, and Shirley Lefever seconded. The motion passed.

Baraba Bichelmeyer presented the second reading for the MSE in Secondary STEM Education at the University of Kansas. Shirley Lefever moved to approve the reques, and Brent Thomas seconded. The motion passed.

# **Other Matters**

Debbie Mercer presented a request a request from Kansas State University to move BS in Interior Design from College of Health & Human Sciences to the Department of Interior Architecture, Planning, & Design. Jill Arensdorf moved to approve the request, and Brent Thomas seconded. The motion passed.

Debbie Mercer presented a request from Kansas State University to change the Department of Accounting to the School of Accountancy within the College of Business Administration. Howard Smith moved to approve the request, and Barbra Bichelmeyer seconded. The motion passed.

Barbra Bichelmeyer presented a request from the University of Kansas for multiple name changes. These changes would not require changes to CIP codes. These changes included changing the BA & BGS in Communication Disorders to Speech-Language-Hearing, changing the BA, MA, & PhD in Spanish & Portuguese to Spanish, changing the BA in Biological Sciences to Biology, changing the BFA in Music to Theatre and Voice, and changing the Bachelor of Social Welfare, Master of Social Welfare, and PhD in Social Welfare to Social Work. Brent Thomas moved to approve these changes, and Jill Arensdorf seconded. The motion passed.

Barbra Bichelmeyer presented a final request from Kansas University to change the name of the BSB in Business Administration & Management to BSB in Management & Leadership. This request would change the CIP code to 52.0213. Shirley Lefever moved to approve the request, and Jill Arensdorf seconded. The motion passed.

# <u>Adjournment</u>

The next COCAO meeting will be held virtually on June 18, 2024.

Brent Thomas moved to adjourn the meeting, and Howard Smith seconded. The motion passed, and the meeting was adjourned at 9:05 a.m.