Council of Chief Academic Officers

MINUTES

Wednesday, June 19, 2019

The June 19, 2019, meeting of the Council of Chief Academic Officers was called to order by Chair Lynette Olson at 8:47 a.m. The meeting was held in Suite 530, located in the Curtis State Office Building, 1000 S.W. Jackson, Topeka, KS.

In Attendance:

	Rick Muma, WSU
JuliAnn Mazachek, Washburn	Jean Redeker, KBOR
Karla Wiscombe	Sam Christy-Dangermond
Natalie Yoza	
Brian Niehoff, KSU CC Ethan Erickson, KSU Linnea GlenMaye, WSU Jennifer Ng, KU	Kim Krull, Butler CC Michelle Schoon, Cowley CC Ryan Ruda, Garden City CC Marc Malone, Garden City, CC Michael Calvert, Pratt CC Kevin Bracker, PSU Matt Pounds, NWK Tech Precious Porras, KU
	Natalie Yoza Lori Winningham, Butler CC Greg Schneider, ESU Adam Borth, Fort Scott CC tt CC Erin Shaw, Highland CC Brian Niehoff, KSU CC Ethan Erickson, KSU Linnea GlenMaye, WSU

Chair Lynette Olson welcomed everyone.

Approval of Minutes

Carl Lejuez moved to approve the May 15th minutes. Following the second of Jill Arensdorf, the motion carried.

First Program Readings

• KUMC – Doctorate in Clinical Nutrition

Robert Klein introduced Dr. Deborah Sullivan to present the Doctorate in Clinical Nutrition degree program and answer questions. If there are further comments or questions, please contact Robert Klein. This is a first reading and no action is required.

Other Requests

• KSU - Request for approval to change the name of the Bachelor of Science in Technology Management degree was presented by Charles Taber. The degree will be called Bachelor of Science in Applied Business and Technology.

Rick Muma moved to approve the above degree name change at KSU. Following the second of Carl Lejuez, the motion carried.

Council of Faculty Senate Presidents (CoFSP) Update

Greg Schneider, ESU, stated this is the first meeting for the new members of CoFSP. The council will discuss several topics and determine the main ones to be addressed in the upcoming year.

OTHER MATTERS

• The Revised New Program Proposal Form was presented by Jean Redeker. The clinical sites section has been updated to include the Inter-Institutional Non-Binding Memorandum of Understanding for Clinical Affiliation Site Cooperation.

By consensus, COCAO approved the revised New Program Proposal Form.

- Jean Redeker informed COCAO of a Provost Leadership Development Academy that is available from AASCU-Penson Center for Professional Development. If you are interested in participating, contact Kay Schallenkamp, AASCU, or Daniel Archer, KBOR.
- Jean Redeker informed COCAO of the Legislative Task Force on Dyslexia report. The Task Force made several recommendations and it is our understanding Kansas State Board of Education is interested in implementing the recommendations. KBOR has been asked to provide a fiscal note, for the third recommendation in the report:
 - The Legislature should provide funding to train college of education professors who teach reading to become cognizant in the science of reading. Training could include conference participation, educational experiences, webinars, and relevant education materials.

Please submit your recommendations for the fiscal note by July 15th to Daniel Archer.

- Informational items
 - FHSU is working on a Master's in Athletic Training degree program.
- Daniel Archer informed COCAO of the September 27th deadline for the Spoken English Language Competency Report.
- Tilford Conference

The 2018 Post Event report was presented by Kate McGonigal, FHSU. Deatrea Rose, PSU, and Teresa Clounch, FHSU, were introduced. Highlights of the report include:

- Over 200 attendees from 18 institutions
- Contributions from FHSU to obtain John Quinones as keynote speaker
 - o Creating Diversity Speaker's week on local media station
- Expenses were \$68.60 per capita from the Tilford budget and \$153.70 per capita combined Tilford budge and FHSU contributions

The 2018 Tilford Conference Post-Conference Survey Results and Notes from Institutional Focus Groups document was distributed to COCAO. *A copy of this report is filed with the official minutes.*

The 2019 Tilford Conference will be held at KU and Jennifer Ng is the KU Coordinator.

COCAO thanked Kate McGonigal and the Tilford Conference planning committee for the leadership and dedication in making the conference a success.

• Vision and purpose of Tilford Conference discussion was led by Carl Lejuez. Members of the Council of Diversity Officers were introduced, Deatrea Rose, PSU, Teresa Clounch, FHSU, Bryan Samuel, KSU, and Jennifer Ng, KU. Precious Porras, KU, was also introduced.

Discussion included:

- Attendance by faculty, staff, and graduate students
- Value of in-state conference when determining faculty development budget
- 2019 Tilford Conference Call for Papers handout "From Knowledge to Practice: Professional Development for a More Equitable Campus"
- Draft rubric for reviewing the proposals
- Draft 2019 Tilford Conference itinerary with Jerry Kang as the keynote speaker
- Communication and marketing plan for Tilford Conference

The Chair recessed the meeting at 9:50 am and reconvened at 12:10 pm.

Tilford discussion continued:

- Council of Chief Diversity Officers discussed the objectives of the Tilford Conference
- Potential for attendance of undergraduate students based upon criteria
- Benefits of recruiting attendees from two-year colleges and private institutions within the state
 - Help non-native Kansans understand the diversity in the state and region
- Overall financial support by universities and potential fund raising
- Importance of the central core academic administrator layer attending the conference
- Requested a session tailored to administrators
 - Recent events, faculty and staff engagement, building a support system

COCAO thanked the Council of Chief Diversity Officers for the discussion. Carl Lejuez will compile notes from the discussion and send to COCAO.

- COCAO thanked Jean Redeker for her time and dedication to the committee and wished Jean well in her new endeavor at the University of Kansas.
- On behalf of COCAO, David Cordle thanked Lynette Olson for her dedication and service to Kansas Higher Education and wished her well in retirement.

The COCAO chair for AY2019-2020 will be David Cordle. Jill Arensdorf moved to adjourn the meeting. Following the second of Rick Muma, the motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 12:35 pm.