Kansas Board of Regents Board Academic Affairs Standing Committee

MINUTES Wednesday September 19, 2018

The September 19, 2018, meeting of the Board Academic Affairs Standing Committee of the Kansas Board of Regents was called to order by Regent Van Etten at 10:32 a.m. The meeting was held in the Board Office located in the Curtis State Office Building, 1000 S.W. Jackson, Suite 520, Topeka, KS.

In Attendance: Members:	Regent Brandau-Murguia	Regent Van Etten	Regent Thomas
Staff:	Jean Redeker Karla Wiscombe	Max Fridell Connie Beene	Sam Christy-Dangermond Cynthia Farrier
Others:	Brad Bennett, Colby CC Steve Loewen, FHTC Erin Shaw, Highland CC Michael McCloud, JCCC Arvin Agah, KU Cliff Morris, PSU Linnea GlenMaye, WSU	Steven Lovett, ESU Adam Borth, Fort Scott CC Cindy Hoss, Hutchinson CC Charles Taber, KSU Matt Pounds, NWKTC Michael Fitzpatrick, Pratt CC	Greg Schneider, ESU Ryan Ruda, Garden City CC Kara Wheeler, Independence CC Carl Lejuez, KU Stephani Johns-Hines, SATC Betty Smith Campbell, WSU

Regent Van Etten welcomed everyone. Regent Brandau-Murguia joined the meeting by phone.

Committee Matters

- A. Regent Van Etten moved that the minutes of the September 4, 2018, conference call be approved. Following the second of Regent Thomas, the motion carried.
- B. Connie Beene and Samantha Christy-Dangermond updated BAASC on Credit for Prior Learning. Credit for Prior Learning (CPL) is the awarding of college credit for equivalent knowledge and skills gained outside the traditional post-secondary classroom and supports the Board's goal to increase higher education attainment among Kansans.

The Report included the first complete year of CPL data and summarizes efforts to support the awarding of CPL for military learning and training, credit by examination, industry-recognized credentials, and other sources of CPL. Discussion was held, and BAASC requested additional information on the types of CPL awarded by institution.

C. Charles Taber, KSU, presented BAASC with a request to name two academic units within the College of Engineering at Kansas State University. He requested the academic units be named the Tim Taylor Department of Chemical Engineering and the GE Johnson Department of Architectural Engineering and Construction Science.

Regent Van Etten moved that the naming of the two academic units listed above for Kansas State University be approved for placement on today's Board agenda. Following the second of Regent Thomas, the motion carried.

- D. BAASC 18-01 Approve Requests for Undergraduate Degrees in Excess of 120 Credit Hours. Jean Redeker provided background information to BAASC. When the process started in May 2017, the universities offered 504 undergraduate degrees of which:
 - 33% of those degrees were at 120 credit hours;
 - 50% required 124 credit hours; and
 - 17% exceeded 124 credit hours.

As of today:

- 92% of undergraduate degrees are at 120 credit hours;
- 0% require 124; and
- 8% exceed 124.

Charles Taber, KSU, Carl Lejuez, KU, and Linnea GlenMaye, WSU, provided commentary on the ten degree programs that exceed 120 credit hours being reviewed today.

After discussion, Regent Brandau-Murgia moved the requests for the ten undergraduate degrees in excess of 120 credit hours be approved. Following the second of Regent Van Etten, the motion carried.

E. Next BAASC meeting will be October 22 at 11:30 am.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, Chair Regent Brandau-Murguia adjourned the meeting at 11:24 am.