May 2, 2014

Board Names New Fort Hays State University President

(Topeka, Kansas) - Today, the Kansas Board of Regents announced Dr. Mirta Martin as 9th president of Fort Hays State University (FHSU).

The Board voted to approve the appointment and officially introduced the new president during a special meeting in the Ballroom of the Memorial Union on the FHSU campus.  Dr. Martin will begin her presidency on July 1, 2014.

“Selecting a President is about identifying the person that fits the university.  In assessing the candidates, we focused on who would embrace and enhance the traditions and achievements of Fort Hays State University,” stated Fred Logan, Chairman of the Kansas Board of Regents. “The Kansas Board of Regents is fully supportive of this new President and the direction she will lead Fort Hays State University into the future.”

Mirta M. Martin, Ph.D., has served as dean of the Reginald F. Lewis School of Business at Virginia State University since 2009. She has also held various higher education leadership positions throughout her career such as special assistant to the chancellor, executive vice president, and associate dean, among other positions.  Dr. Martin received her Ph.D. from Virginia Commonwealth University, a Master of Business Administration from the University of Richmond, and a Bachelor of Science from Duke University.

“The future of the nation lies in the pursuit of academic excellence,” began Martin. “Progress is not possible without vision, leadership, and trust. As your president, my priority is to enable you to become your best self.”  She continued, “I believe my selection as President is an affirmation of the Regents’ and Fort Hays State University’s commitment to entrepreneurial leadership, opportunity, diversity, and innovation.”

“Dr. Mirta Martin is the personification of the American dream,” said Logan. “She has been successful in every challenge she has ever faced. She will be successful at Fort Hays State University.”

Following the Board’s announcement, Dr. Martin and her husband, John, were introduced to members of the FHSU and Hays communities during a reception.The announcement of Martin as the 9th President of FHSU comes after five months of work by the FHSU Presidential Search Committee.  Members of the committee received public recognition for their efforts.

“A special thank you to the members of the FHSU Presidential Search Committee,” said Logan.  “These individuals made a commitment to help the Board find the best candidates from around the nation to lead this fine institution and we recognize that commitment today in naming the 9th President of Fort Hays State University.”

For more information, contact Breeze Richardson at (785) 291-3969 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., or the Fort Hays State University Office of University Relations at (785) 628-4206 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..  


About the Kansas Board of Regents:
The nine-member Kansas Board of Regents, founded in 1925 and established in the Kansas Constitution, is the governing board of the six state universities and the statewide coordinating board for the state’s 32 public higher education institutions (six state universities, one municipal university, nineteen community colleges, and six technical colleges). In addition, the Board administers the state’s student financial aid, adult education, GED, career and technical education programs, and the state university retirement plans. The Board also approves private proprietary schools and out-of-state institutions to operate in Kansas and administers the Kan-ed network, a statewide network that provides broadband Internet access and distance learning capabilities for schools, hospitals, and libraries.

Visit the Kansas Board of Regents online at

Board Names New Fort Hays State University President (PDF)