May 5, 2011


(TOPEKA) – Today Regent Gary Sherrer of Overland Park, the Chairman of the Kansas Board of Regents, issued the following statement regarding today’s resignation of Emporia State University (ESU) President Michael Lane:

“The Board thanks Mike and Peggy for the time, effort, and commitment they’ve made to Emporia State, and we have nothing but the best of wishes for their future success. The Board will meet tomorrow in a special session to discuss the issues related to President Lane’s decision.”

Dr. Michael Lane was selected by the Kansas Board of Regents as ESU’s 15th President on September 20, 2006. He began his presidency on November 1, 2006, and served as ESU’s President for four and a half years. Dr. Lane’s resignation is effective June 30, 2011.

The Board will meet by telephone conference call on Friday, May 6 at 11:00 a.m. to discuss the issues related to the ESU Presidency. A speaker telephone will be available to the public in the Board of Regents office, 1000 SW Jackson Street, Suite 520, in Topeka.


About the Kansas Board of Regents:
The nine-member Kansas Board of Regents, founded in 1925 and established in the Kansas Constitution, is the governing board of the six state universities and the statewide coordinating board for the state’s 32 public higher education institutions (six state universities, one municipal university, 19 community colleges, and six technical colleges). In addition, the Board administers the state’s student financial aid, adult education, GED, career and technical education programs, and the state university retirement plans. The Board also approves private proprietary schools and out-of-state institutions to operate in Kansas, and administers the Kan-ed network, a statewide network that provides broadband Internet access and distance learning capabilities for schools, hospitals, and libraries.

For more information contact Kip Peterson at (785) 296-3421 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Visit the Kansas Board of Regents online at